Rome wasn’t built in a day

Heck, I don’t even think it was built in a week!  Despite my good intentions, I have not been regularly posting on this blog.  I sometimes feel completely overwhelmed with all the things I have to do, both in the studio and around the homefront. 

In December of last year, I decided to take my blackberries in hand ( the kind that grow, not the other kind).  There was a patch of them that was about 12 feet tall, and about 20 feet deep and 40 feet long. As they were threatening to take over the driveway, I realized I had to do something.  Armed with loppers, hand clippers, a wheelbarrow,  and a rake, I started cutting little sections and hauling them off to another spot on the property. Oh, and I only have about an hour a day that I can work on them.  well, one and a half months later, the blackberries are gone, and I have started planting more gardener friendly plants.  I will have to keep a watch on the area, and cut them back as they try to rear their ugly little thorns, but the worst of the work is done.

By now you are wondering: Is this a blog about art, or is this a blog about gardening?  A little of both, is the possible correct answer. The point that I wish to make, is,  that if you look at the big picture outcome that you wish to achieve,  most tasks, a thriving art career for instance, seem completely overwhelming. But, if you break the big task down into it’s smaller component parts, almost anything is do-able. Tell yourself, that you are going to work on a painting for an hour.  Set the timer.  Once your hour is up, you can feel free to do something else. By breaking things into managable parts, we can get through some really big projects.  My next project is the 700 rock project. If I gather 2 rocks a day for a year, at the end of that year, I’ll have over 700 rocks.  Something to think about.

See ya next time.

Leave a Reply

