Is there no Relief from Instant-ness?

Is instant the new insanity? I don’t know about you, but I am getting a little annoyed at the idea that we should have access to everything we want, exactly when we want it.

For instance, I was listening to the radio this morning and the announcer said something like, “Can’t hear the show when it’s actually on the air?  No problem. Just listen to our podcast whenever you want to.”   Now on the surface, this doesn’t sound like such a bad thing.  I mean, who doesn’t have a packed schedule?  But then I started thinking ( which is not necessarily a good thing when I’m driving)  if I’m too busy to listen when something is being broadcast, aren’t I likely to be too busy later, and besides, there will be SOMETHING ELSE that I simply must hear or watch by then.

The idea that things can be produced or procured instantly is insidious. Does owning a cell phone mean that you should be available to anyone at every moment? And more importantly, does this scourge of instant-ness  cross over into how we think about making and experiencing art? ( I knew I would get around to talking about art sooner or later.)  My artmaking process is slow and considered.  Observations of light and detail, and the depiction thereof doesn’t happen instantly.  Television and internet images come at us fast and from all directions. Maybe we need to slow down, realize that we will miss some things, but that maybe the act of choosing what we want to experience, and then taking the time to experience those things fully, isn’t a bad idea.

I’m just sayin.

3 thoughts on “Is there no Relief from Instant-ness?

  1. I heard that. I’ve shied away from write-and-perform-a-play-in-24-hours fests and National Playwriting/Novel-Writing Month and will likely continue to do so. As with painting, playwriting is very much add a line here, change a few lines there. I could probably do to do the adding or changing more often, but then this isn’t my day job like it is for you. It’s more like your rock project.

    Yeah, instant art does not satisfy. Or compute.

  2. Hi Anne……..I couldn’t agree with you more. My art process, in particular,
    requires lots of time and space and the freedom to indulge in deep contemplation. In some ways this is another form of instant gratification, because in EACH instant it is gratifying. That’s a big difference. Being content with your use of time is the part that counts. If you need to always be in touch with the latest technology in order to be content, then I suppose that’s your “thing”…..it just isn’t MY thing. Example: I use my cell phone, but I didn’t buy it….it was given to me in a moment of desperation by a relative. I use it only for long distance driving trips when I need it for important communication. I enjoy face book but it doesn’t “own me”. I use the internet and find it invaluable, but I’m not driven by the latest programs or fads on-line. I think moderation is the best practice, and I don’t plan on letting my creative process become tainted by the modern insanity of “instant” . I feel so grateful that I don’t have to buy into anything new if I don’t want to. I prefer to be the same old me doing what I do in my studio. The inspiration may feel instantaneous when it pops up, but its source is age-old and far removed from modern trends. PS I like this blog page. It’s beautifully designed.

  3. I think all is a personal choice.

    At times,/instant knowledge is fantastic.
    At other times, it is knowing when NOT to answer your device.

    We need to teach/help remember kindness and consideration if we are a society that willactually continue.
    Cheers
    Ruth

Leave a Reply

