Determining your PII (perceived inconvenience index)

I’m not exactly sure what this has to do with painting, although in my experience, everything relates to everything else, so here goes.  In my evolution as a self supporting painter, I’ve had to approach things from a limited resource point of view.  By resources, I mostly mean time and money.  A number of my friends and acquaintences give me some amount of grief over my various  quirks.  Number one on the hit parade is, “Why don’t you have an internet connection in your house?”  This is where the PII kicks in.  The PII measures, on a scale of 1 to 10, with 10 being the most inconvenient, how inconvenient some activity is in your daily scedule.   Yes, I do have to drive to the library to check my email, which on the surface, could push the PII up to 9 or 10.  When you take into account that I always combine my library trips with other errands, it moves it down to 5>6.  But, if you factor in that I don’t have the option of getting up in the morning and having a quick look at my email before I start work turning  into 4 hours of watching cute panda videos on youtube, the PII moves down to a quite acceptable 2>3. And, when you add the fact that I only check my email 2 or 3 times it week, it becomes downright sensible! ( making it 1>2 on the PII)

Did I develop this method of calculating levels of inconvenience to justify my unique philosophy of life? Yeah, but doesn’t everyone?  It’s certainly a valid way of looking at how you spend your time, particularly for the self employed.

Next week I’ll start a new “Painting in Progress” Tell your friends!

Leave a Reply

