A painting a day keeps the boogyman away

Ok, I don’t know if this is true. In fact, I have not joined the “painting a day” movement, even though I suspect that the practice would be helpful to me.  I have to admit that I like the long slow process of layering my paint, letting it dry, adding more layers and complexity as I go.  I do paint almost every day, so in that sense I am practicing what the daily painters preach to a certain extent.

It is the regular, daily practice of painting that makes us better painters, not some magic words or special paints or brushes. (I do believe in using the best materials you can afford and while it does help, it’s not the whole equation.)

Check out the latest permutaion on the current painting in progress, The Rites of Spring.

Keep painting!

Leave a Reply

