Embracing the process…

From my wordless picture book, Pandamorphosis by Anne Belov

After all the initial sketches and forming my ideas, plotting the rise of the action, and many, many revisions, down to doing the finished (I hope) drawings, it has been quite a ride.  But it’s not nearly over yet.  When I finished the last drawing, there was a feeling of “now what?”  I thought I had done the hardest part, but it turns out I was wrong.  You would think that after almost 3 decades of being an exhibiting painter, that the process of putting my work out there for consideration would be no big deal.  But this children’s book arena is a new field of endeavor with its own process and protocols.  I am completely wet behind the ears, and trying to do it all right.  I’ve queried a half dozen or so agents, with a few rejections so far, and a nibble or two, so I guess I am stepping into the fray.  I don’t know where I’m going, and I really don’t know how I’m going to get there, but I think I’ll know it when I do.  In any case, I’m pleased with and proud of the work I’ve done so far, (and I think that the pandas are happy with my depiction of them) and I’m looking forward to the rest of it.

I just don’t know what the rest is. (I’ll let you know when I know!)

Leave a Reply

