She Who Hesitates…..

30 days - 30 pandas

from 30 Days - 30 Pandas by Anne Belov

 

While the pandas do not usually appear on this blog, (Note from Mehitabel:  Those pandas are so darn pushy!) I’ve invited them here to make a point.  I’ve been reading some books  about cartooning, most notably a series of 3 books by cartoonist Scott McCloud.  These are Understanding Comics, Reinventing Comics, and Making Comics.  I think they could be best described as textbooks that investigate both the philosophy and thought processes that go into visual storytelling.  In addition to being of benefit to the people who are interested in comics and graphic novels, they contain much that is useful to those who are interested and engaged in children’s picture books.  Since I am engaged both in making cartoons and writing/illustrating picture books, I felt they had much to teach me.  In fact, I felt so strongly about this connection, that I thought I should write a reveiw of these books, as they relate to children’s literature and submit it for publication in the SCBWI journal. (Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators)  However, this month someone already beat me to it.  Oh well. It just proves my point, doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

