Drum roll, please! The launching of my Kickstarter project….

What is 32 days long, might help send me to Italy, and will happen with the help of friends and new supporters?  A Kickstarter project called Italy: Inspiration from the Source.  But what the heck is Kickstarter, you might very well ask?   KIckstarter is a new forum that’s been in existence for just a couple of years.  Built on the idea that there are people out there with creative ideas that need funding, and other people that would like to support these ideas, but can’t carry the whole project, Kickstarter puts the creators and small scale philanthropists in touch with one another.  It’s kind of like a world wide electronic message board like you might find at your local food co-op, except instead of 3″x5″ cards advertising lawn mowing services and the need for child care, you have project descriptions along with an introduction video (more on that later this week) and a list of “rewards” for contributions at various levels of funding.

Over the next month, while my project is up and running, I’ll talk about what my goals for the proposed project are, as well as the various things that I’m offering as incentives for support.  I’ll also talk about the process, because I think that it’s interesting, but also because it’s stretched my comfort and skills levels in ways I hadn’t anticipated.

For now, I hope that you will check out my project.  Here’s the link: http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/arttraveler/painting-from-the-source-the-inspiration-of-italy

I look forward to hearing from you.

Leave a Reply

