Making Stuff….

I had a conversation last night with one of my friends, and one of the many things we talked about was that we really liked making things, and also that we related best to other people who make things.  It doesn’t have to be art.  It can be houses or bread or boats (or cake!) or any number of things.  It’s not that I don’t dwell in my head a lot,  (or as some people might say, entirely too much.)  It’s that actually making things  is so satisfying on so many levels.

A few years ago, I had an opportunity to learn hand book binding from  printmaker/bookmaker Briony Morrow-Cribbs.  Did I really need to add another activity onto my already overflowing plate?  Well, no, but I have always drooled over other artists’ hand bound books, and I really wanted to learn how to do it.  The truth is that, at least for me, making stuff is fun.  Here are some pictures of a project that I worked on with Briony and several other artists that participate in my show, The Froggwell Biennale.  We decided it would be a fun idea to make a portfolio containing one print of each of the 8 printmakers that participate in the show.  It turned out to be more work than I thought, but I learned a lot in the process.  Now that I have this skill, I am going to make a small number of the hand-bound portfolios of the lithographs that I will do in Italy. ( see kickstarter proposal 17 days left to go!)

In the background of the last photo, you can see my etching press.

 

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/arttraveler/painting-from-the-source-the-inspiration-of-italy

 

 

Leave a Reply

