That looks familiar, but there is something different about it…

Arrangement in Black, White, and Gray //Anne Belov //all rights reserved

 

One of my skills that I developed a bit in art school, and have since honed my skills further, both by  “copying” my own work, and then copying paintings by some of my favorite (long dead) painters.  The first one I did was kind of on a dare from a friend, after seeing the John Singer Sargent show that was at the Seattle Art Museum about 12 years ago.  Looking at A Street Scene in Venice, I said, Damn, I wish I’d painted that!  And my friend said, Why don’t you?  So I did and made him buy it.  We had just been in Amsterdam for a few weeks, and he had bought a painting that seemed to be a genuine forgery (if that’s not a contradiction in terms) of a Dutch painter that is well represented in the Rijksmuseum.  That painting was the beginning of a small, but growing, collection of forgeries painted by several of our other artist friends.  I have painted at least 4 Sargent’s, several Vermeer’s, a Whistler, and now a parody of a Whistler, Arrangement in Black, White, and Gray.  This is what I hope will be a series of panda parody paintings that is a study of unknown paintings by well known painters, which will be collected in a tongue and cheek art history picture book.

3 thoughts on “That looks familiar, but there is something different about it…

Leave a Reply

