More Lessons From the Land of Kickstarter

Well, if you haven’t heard already, I am just over 48 hours into my third Kickstarter project. I’m ready to publish my Pandum-Opus, Pandamorphosis at long last.  This is a project I’ve been working on, off and on, for over four years, several of those years quite intensely.  At last I think it’s ready, and apparently other people do too.

I decided to take a gamble this time, after listening to webinars, reading articles, and masterminding several other projects for some of the other Whidbey Island creatives, and only run my campaign for 16 days. (Cutting out the deadly second/third week lull.)

Here’s some of what I learned from all these experiences, especially regarding the “crowd” from whom you are trying to get funding:

1. Be prepared. And by that I mean, don’t just start trying to make new friends in the week before your project launches.  (This probably doesn’t apply if you have designed a seriously cool gizmo that everyone is going to want or are an experienced game designer. Your audience will find you and throw large bags of money in your path.)

2. Thank everyone…the same day that they pledged, if you are awake in your time zone. No matter how tiny their pledge is.  Someone who doesn’t know you personally, and pledges just $1, is saying that your project is so cool, that they just wanted their name attached to it.  And if you do know them and they pledge that same $1, maybe that came out of their grocery money for the week. A pledge is a pledge. Say thank you.

3. Let your friends and supporters know about it, without running them down with your cart in the supermarket. (OK, sorry, Diane…it was a blind corner, hope your foot is okay.)  Ask your good friends for their opinion on your project before it launches.

4. Blog and tweet about it without being a jerk.  Give them something fun, informative or entertaining in the post as well.

5. While I think it’s fair to contact other project creators if you have supported their past projects, to ask for a shout out, you should only do that if you had some back and forth conversations with them and they have some chance of remembering who you are, OR some affinity for the type of project you are doing.  Don’t expect it though.  And don’t be this person who sent me a message through the Kickstarter message system:
“Because you have been funded, I was wondering if you could help me fund my project on kickstarter. By sending the url to your funders.”

( I removed any identifying information about their project.  really, I should report him to Kickstarter for spamming me and probably other successful projects, but he has enough trouble already.  His project description was  full of typos and grammatical errors.)

6. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again.  If your video is just you talking, no matter how cool your idea is, the video should be 2 minutes max,  unless you’re George Clooney.

6 thoughts on “More Lessons From the Land of Kickstarter

    • it’s a pretty wild thing (and I have to say, a little addictive. I’ve backed 24 projects, mostly in very (very) small amounts, just cause it’s fun.) This is my own 3rd project and I’ve never had one fund this fast. The first one went right down to the wire. I was totally wrung out. The next one funded about a week before time was up. I ran each of them for 30 days, and after this one, I’ll never do one longer then 14-16 days again. This time I had people so psyched for Pandamorphosis because I’ve been showing people drawings from the book, both in progress as well as finished ones for a couple of years. I also planned and carried out two campaigns for other people, as well as given lots of advice. My friend Deb Lund is about to launch a project for these fiction writing prompt cards that she’s been using as part of her teaching for years. I think it will be an awesome project. Thanks again for your support both on pledging and sharing the project. Please keep sharing it as you feel comfortable till it’s over on the 28th.

  1. Reblogged this on Cordelia's Mom, Still and commented:
    Ever wonder how kickstarting works? I did. This lady’s artwork is awesome – check out her blog for both the panda and non-panda images. I especially like her paintings of “stuff” – one of which (“Nothing Overlooked”) she allowed me to use for my blog earlier this month.

    • Thank you so much for reblogging, CM! I may have a few more followers over at The panda Chronicles, but not as many over here (since I neglect it in favor of playing with pandas.) Thank you for sharing, and for saying my work is incredible. I would probably be an ax murderer if I wasn’t a painter.

Leave a Reply

